top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehilaryisaac

Steak and Mac and Cheese

Updated: Oct 4, 2018

This is probably one of the easiest ways I've had a very filling and hearty meal. One of my best friends flew in to visit me and my little family and after her visit, she surprised us with a sous vide wand as thank you gift. Let me tell you--it's a gift that keeps on giving. It has certainly helped me expand my menu and encouraged me to be bolder in the kitchen in terms of creativity. I used to think sous vide-ing anything was too fancy pants for the likes of me. But it turns out, Auguste Gusteau (the famous, fictional chef from Disney's "Ratatouille") was right: Anyone CAN cook. Now don't be overwhelmed by how labor-intensive this seems. It only seems that way the first time attempt this. But I like to cook a huge batch of cauliflower mac and cheese and use the leftover from it as a side dish to a beautiful steak.


I strongly encourage you to get a sous vide precision cooker because it's an investment you won't regret. What I use in my home is the Anova Precision Cooker 2.0 Bluetooth.


You can order one by clicking on this link. (This is not a sponsored post, FYI. Although I wish it were. Haha!)


Anyway, back to the recipe.


INGREDIENTS:

6 oz. sirloin steak (I used Kobe beef from Snake River Farms)

Cauliflower mac and cheese (you can find the recipe for this in my previous blog post)


Marinade for steak:

3 tbs olive oil

3 garlic cloves, crushed

1/3 c red wine vinegar

1/3 c low sodium soy sauce (I really like the Kikkoman brand)

1/4 c Worcestershire sauce

salt and black pepper


DIRECTIONS:

Marinade steak overnight or for at least an hour. Then transfer into sous vide vacuum bag (or zip locking bag and remove air by way of water displacement method). Toss in garlic cloves and aromatics such as thyme or rosemary. Follow sous vide directions and settings for the steak. (It helps to download the Anova app because it'll automatically control your precision cooker and includes tips on how to prep and finish your choice of protein)


Remove steaks from sous vide bags, throw away the aromatics (the herbs you put into the bag) and pat dry with paper towels. Sprinkle with more salt and pepper. Sear the steak on a screaming-hot cast-iron skillet. I like to follow the traditional French style of cooking it in butter and sprigs of thyme. The flavour really seeps into the steak and gives it a beautiful sear and crust.


I like to cook each side of the steak for 2 minutes before flipping and then letting it rest on my wood cutting board for 4 minutes before cutting it up. Resting will allow the juices to redistribute throughout the steak and you end up with a really moist carve.


When plating, I like to sprinkle a dash of cayenne or smoked paprika to the cauliflower mac and cheese.


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page