top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehilaryisaac

Easy Swedish Meatballs

This is the ultimately easy because I chose to work with frozen meatballs instead of making them from scratch like I normally do. My favourite brand is Cooked Perfect Homestyle Meatballs. The gem in this recipe is really the sauce; it's so versatile you can use it on pasta, rice, steak, or even mashed potatoes. Anything you would want to drizzle in savoury, creamy sauce--this sauce would be perfect for.



INGREDIENTS:

1 c beef stock (or use beef cubes dissolved in 1 cup of water)

1 c heavy cream

3 TBS flour (I used plain flour; I tried to use xanthin gum as a thickener for a keto option, but the texture was so off.)

1 TBS soy sauce

1 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 tsp dried rosemary (I like to crush it in the mortar and pestle before adding it in)

1/2 package (20 oz) frozen cooked meatballs, thawed


DIRECTIONS:

Whisk together all your ingredients except for the meatballs and cook in a large saucepan until smooth. Work the sauce over low heat until it starts to thicken (it should take about 8-10 mins) and then add in your meatballs and continue to cook until the meatballs are heated all the way through.


*Another option*

I personally like to bake the meatballs in the oven first until they get a little nice and brown. I find that I like the crisp texture and the flavour when baked first and then added to the sauce. The way I prepared it, I poured it over spaghetti noodles for my kiddo, while the grown ups enjoy it over low carb noodles. But it also goes so perfectly over rice.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page