top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehilaryisaac

Grilled Ginger Lime Shrimp

Long time no blog! Life happens and sometimes I get distracted by life and mommy things. If you follow my IG, you'll see I haven't stopped cooking and cheffing it up in my tiny kitchen, but I have been slacking off on the blogging. I'm back though and with a delicious gem of a recipe. This is one of my favourite summer dishes that really highlights the flavour that only grilling can give. I only wish I had made a bigger batch and didn't have to share with anyone. :)


The recipe's main star is the ginger lime shrimp, but I paired it with a browned butter sage pasta using my favourite Better Than Noodles low-carb substitute. It's available for purchase on Amazon. Anyway, you'll find the recipe down below our shrimp dish recipe.


INGREDIENTS:

1-2 lbs shrimps, deveined

3/4 c soy sauce

1/4 c green onions, chopped

1-inch piece of ginger, peeled and chopped

2 TBS brown sugar

3 cloves garlic, peeled

1/2 c lime juice

1/4 c sesame oil

fresh ground black pepper



DIRECTIONS:

Heat up your grill on high and make sure you've primed it well with a nonstick spray.


You can choose to grill your shrimp peeled or with shell and head on (I personally prefer keeping the heads on even when I shell them, because the flavour is highly concentrated in the shrimp heads). After you devein and clean your shrimps, set them aside while you work on the marinade.



Combine all the marinade ingredients and pulse them in a blender. I tossed them into my Magic Bullet and pulsed them for a few seconds until it was smooth and evenly blended. It will resemble a runny peanut butter or peanut sauce. Let your shrimp soak in the marinade for 20 minutes in room temp.



Grill the shrimp for 1 to 1 1/2 min on each side or until done. Hit it with a squeeze of lime before serving. Enjoy!



BROWNED BUTTER SAGE NOODLES


INGREDIENTS:

1/2 c grass-fed butter (I prefer Kerry Gold, unsalted butter)

fresh sage leaves

1 package of Better Than Noodles (or your preferred pasta)


DIRECTIONS:

On a light-coloured skillet over medium heat, melt the butter until it starts to foam. Place sage leaves and leave to cook until the leaves develop a deep green, then flip over. Cook until the leaves are crisp, and then remove them from the pan.


Rinse out the noodles under cold water to get rid of the Calcium Hydroxide (citric lime water which is used to preserve it in the packaging. Toss the noodles in the browned butter to get an even coat. Season with some salt and pepper. Put the crispy sage leaves back in the pan and toss with the noodles.


Pile the noodles on a plate and serve with the grilled shrimp.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page