top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehilaryisaac

Keto Pancakes + Eggs + Bacon

Saturdays are one of my favourite days because I don't have to get up too early, and I don't have to rush my way through the day. Because I practice 16-hour intermittent fasting, I don't actually have breakfast anymore; my first meal is always a post-workout lunch. So this morning I was really excited to finally enjoy a lazy morning over a delicious breakfast.




This required a little bit of multitasking. First, I preheated my oven at 375 F and put my bacon strips in there to cook. I like to bake them because it keeps them flat and prevents shrinkage. I also really detest having to clean bacon fat off of a pan. I like to line a tray with parchment paper and then put a wire rack on top for the bacon strips. I let those bad boys bake for about 17-20 minutes (sometimes longer for thick-cut bacon). When the bacon fat cools and solidifies, I just toss it in the trash.


Next, I get the pancake batter ready. I use Lakanto Low Carb Pancake Mix and follow the instructions which are super simple. You just add half a cup of the pancake mix, 1/4 c water (I used Ripple Unsweetened Vanilla Pea Milk instead), 1 teaspoon coconut oil, and 1 egg. For my sour cream pancakes, I just added 2 tablespoons of Tillamook Sour Cream and mixed it all up really well. The batter will be thick and heavy. These portions will yield 4 fluffy pancakes.


On a hot skillet or pan, I put a tablespoon of butter and cook my pancakes in them. When they're done and stacked up on a plate, I use the same skillet to make my eggs. I take 2 eggs and beat them so they're airy and fluffy. I always use Kerry Gold Grass-fed Unsalted Butter since I'm on keto. When the eggs are cooked, I then season with salt, pepper, and parsley.


By the time I'm done making the pancakes and cooking the eggs, the bacon will be ready. I assemble them on the plate, place a tablespoon of Cool Whip Lite on my pancakes, and drizzle with Lakanto Maple-Flavoured Sugarfree Syrup. Now I sit back, say grace for this lovely bounty, and tuck happily into my breakfast. And that's how you start a beautiful Saturday morning the right way.


411 calories (for the whole meal)

24g Protein

11.5g Carbs (net)

26.5g Fat


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page