top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehilaryisaac

Ketortilla Chips

See what I did there? Keto + tortilla = ketortilla! I know, I won't be booking the Apollo anytime soon, but you gotta admit, it's pretty funny/catchy.



Guys. There are days when I just NEED to munch on something. Keto has always been so tricky for me when it came to snacking because I wasn't all about the avocados and nuts all the time. I certainly don't find myself craving a fat bomb. Some days, I just want to sit down, watch my favourite Hulu shows while enjoying some chips and dip. But, as someone once told me, when it comes to keto, you stand a better chance at succeeding if you make your own snacks and treats because you'll know what goes in it.


This recipe for tortilla chips is not going to be Doritos-crunchy, but it tastes so darn good. I made two attempts to see how much better I could roll out the dough of my second batch. The secret is to rolling it out as thinly as possible. Final verdict: it's a lot more like thicker pita chips and for what it's worth, it definitely satiated my craving. Even the Mister couldn't resist dipping these into his favourite Melissa's Hatch Chile Salsa.



INGREDIENTS: (makes 8 servings or 40 chips; serving size is 5 chips)

2 cups shredded mozzarella

3/4 cup almond flour (I use Bob's Red Mill Super Fine Almond Flour)

2 tbs psyllium husk OR 2 teaspoons psyllium husk/fibre powder (I use the same brand)

salt

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp paprika


DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350F.


Melt mozzarella cheese in a microwave safe bowl for 2 minutes (or melt it in a pot).

Add the almond flour, psyllium husk powder, and all the spices. Stir well to combine the flavours until you get a smooth dough. You'll have to work quickly since the mozzarella starts to cool and thicken right away as soon as you get it out of the heat.

Shape the dough into a ball and sandwich it between two pieces of parchment paper before rolling it out--this will prevent it from sticking to the rolling pin.



Again, you'll want to make sure you roll this out as thinly as possible.

Then, using a pizza cutter, cut the dough into triangles or whatever shape you fancy. Arrange them on a baking sheet but make sure the chips don't touch or overlap or else they'll be stuck once cooked through.



Bake for about 8 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Cool on a wire rack before serving.


1.9g Carbs per 5 chips.


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page