top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehilaryisaac

Low Carb Breakfast Frittata

I love these easy one-pan dishes because not only is it convenient, it's also quick. Frittatas are a well-known and well-loved breakfast item for sustenance on the go, and also makes a good snack that can tide you over.


Over the holidays, I had family over for a visit. It was our first time to host the entire holiday week, so you can imagine my excitement and dread knowing I got to cook for family. Dread because my mom is an amazing home cook and even though I'm fairly confident in my own kitchen ability, I'm also always nervous about having her taste my cooking because her opinion will always matter to me. Thankfully, she has had a happy and full belly throughout their entire stay.


Bear in mind, frittatas are basically a no-brainer dish. There's almost no way you can get this wrong. I used whatever ingredients I had that I felt would be delicious together and in the end, we all enjoyed it. So feel free to freestyle your own frittata recipe too!


INGREDIENTS

4 eggs, beaten

2-3 bacon rashes, cooked and chopped (I chopped them up before I fried them to a crisp)

4 sweet mini peppers, chopped

1/2 cup chopped crimini mushrooms

1 clove garlic, chopped

2 cups left-over Christmas ham, chopped

2 cups spinach, chopped

1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

Pork rind crumbs for toppings (I use Porkking Good pork rind crumbs which you can find here)


DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 F.


On a hot cast iron pan over medium high heat, cook your chopped bacon until crispy. Set aside and drain excess fat. Next, toss in the garlic and cook until fragrant, then add the ham, mushrooms, sweet peppers, and spinach. Once the spinach is halfway cooked, remove and set the ham and veggies aside.


Next, take your beaten eggs and pour it into the cast iron pan. Add all the ham, bacon, and veggies back into the eggs, and sprinkle with cheese. You can gently press down on it to let the veggies, bacon, and ham sink a little bit into the egg. Sometimes, I will always just pour the beaten eggs in after my ingredients have cooked in the pan. But I find that this technique doesn't give me a solid bottom and makes it difficult to pick up the frittata piece without it falling apart.


Top it with pork rind crumbs and then bake it in the oven for 10 minutes.


Let it rest for 5 minutes after baking before slicing up and serving.





44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page