top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehilaryisaac

"Shakshuka" Eggs and Meatballs

The holiday season is a black hole that's swallowed me whole. I had so much on my calendar I needed to get done, had a bit of traveling to do and go see family. I owe you guys a few recipes, I know. Don't worry; I've got you covered. While it's looking like this winter will be a little bit warmer for us, I still need to bundle up just to get the mail. My favourite thing for cold days is hearty dishes that bring warmth both to belly and soul.


Shakshuka (or Shakshouka) is originally a Mediterranean and Middle Eastern dish (but the eggs and veggies version of it finds its origin in Tunisia). I put it in quotes because technically this isn't Shakshuka in terms of the spices used. But this dish does require eggs being poached in tomato sauce. It's so easy to make and is definitely a crowd-pleaser. I love that it's a one-dish recipe too.


INGREDIENTS:

8 meatballs (I used Carando brand Fresh Italian Style Abruzzese Meatballs)

1 can tomato sauce

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp thyme

3 eggs

salt and pepper

baby spinach (you can use as much or as little depending on your preference)



DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350F.


On a cast-iron pan and over medium-high heat, cook the garlic and brown the meatballs. Try to get as even a colour on the meatballs as possible without burning them. Pour in the tomato sauce, add the herbs, and mix well. Crack three whole eggs into the pan and add the baby spinach.


Bake for 20 minutes or until egg white looks cooked but is still soft and yolk remains soft and runny. Season with salt and pepper. Serve.



63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page